School Board approves boundary plan for the opening of Prince William Parkway Elementary
Posted on 01/17/2019
School Board iconAt its meeting on January 16, 2019, the School Board approved a boundary plan to reassign portions of the attendance areas associated with the following elementary schools: Antietam, Belmont, Featherstone, Kerrydale, Kilby, Lake Ridge, Marumsco Hills, Minnieville, Occoquan, Old Bridge, Penn, Potomac View, Rockledge, Springwoods, Vaughan, and Westridge.

These attendance area changes are made in anticipation of the opening of Prince William Parkway Elementary and room additions at Antietam, Lake Ridge, Springwoods, Leesylvania, and Minnieville Elementary Schools, effective for the 2019-20 school year. The opening of the new school and room additions adds a total of 95 classrooms targeted to reduce overcrowding in the eastern areas of Prince William County.

Rising fourth- and fifth-grade students at Rockledge Elementary, as well as rising fifth-grade students at the remaining elementary schools affected by the boundary changes, are allowed to remain at their current schools if they provide their own transportation.

The approved plan will remove approximately 41 of the current 61 trailers, leaving approximately 20 to remain in the 2019-20 school year.

View a video of the School Board meeting boundary discussion (starts at 2:38).