Outstanding student vocalists named members of the Virginia Honors Choir
Posted on 10/26/2018
Music icon

Thirty-six PWCS students have been selected to be members of the 2018 Virginia Honors Choir, one of the highest honors in their high school musical careers. Selection to this prestigious choir is a competitive process that pits our students against the top high school vocal talent in Virginia. With 20 percent of the audition scores based on the students’ ability to sight-read music, a solid musical background is paramount.

“We are pleased to see more students from Prince William County qualify for the Honors Choir than any other school district in the state this year,” said Dr. Ed Stephenson, supervisor of the arts. “This success is a testament to the skill and dedication of our choral teachers and students.”

The choir will perform at the Virginia Music Educators Association convention on Saturday, November 17 in Hot Springs, Virginia. The students representing PWCS are:

• Lillie Yao, Miguel George, and Shane Gallagher from Battlefield High School;
• Eleyna Para and Klayton Ewing from Brentsville District High School;
• Aikeda Juma, Annastasia Marie, Shea Matthew, Aidan Toth, Nicholas Villacorte, Aya Reed, Ally Hagan (alternate) and Benjamin Lynn (alternate) from Colgan High School;
• Rayna Ketch, Aidan Clarke, Kyle Sisk, Carter Johnson, Matthew Jones, Etienne Mickiewicz, and Pedro Aguiar (alternate) from Forest Park High School;
• Yasuno Takeshima, Helene Loosli, Emily Elston, Anthony Blewett, and Trae Griffith from Hylton High School;
• Andrew Cubbage (alternate) from Osbourn Park High School;
• Sadie Aram and Grace Comeau from Patriot High School;
• Jonnathan Do from Potomac High School;
• Christina Mun, Nathan Yannarell, and Joseph Annibell (alternate) from Stonewall Jackson High School; and
• Makala Crawford, Cenaya Reed, Candace Todd, and Caleb Green from Woodbridge High School.